In Triofox, if you get a lock lost message like the one shown below, about a lock on a specific file being broken and whether you want to grab lock again. What does the message mean?
How the locking works in triofox:
- When distributed locking is on (it is on by default), opening a file in the client will lock the file automatically. It will prevent other users from modifying the file. Once you close the file, it will be uploaded to the cloud and the lock will be released.
- While you are working on the file, the triofox client will keep the lock heartbeat with the triofox server, to maintain the lock. If the server doesn't hear from client for 15 minutes, it will assume the client is gone and unlock the file, to prevent the file from locking permanently.
- The error message means while you still have the file opened, you lost the lock now. And it gives you the option to lock the file again.
- An admin might have released the lock from the web portal directly.
- When you have a file opened and the machine goes into sleep mode, the triofox Windows client cannot send heartbeat messages anymore.
- You have a network issue which prevents the triofox Windows client from communicating with the server for the heartbeat message.
- If you are still working on the file, just click 'yes' to grab the lock again.
- If your machine does not go into sleep mode, please check your network connection.
As an admin, you can define after how long the server will release the lock when it doesn't get the heartbeat message. The setting is under Control Panel, Settings, Timeouts and Limits, Distributed Lock Idle Timeout